Music: Waiting Game by BANKS

Waiting Game is pretty much modern-day Romeo and Juliet. Okay the first verse doesn’t really enforce this idea, but after that, this song is just that tangle of emotions. The lyric, “What if I never even see you cuz we’re both on a stage,” is seriously screaming Romeo and Juliet because, guess what,  Romeo and Juliet is a play; plays are performed on a stage… yeah? yeah? yeah. The second verse though is me just obnoxiously raising my eyebrows up and down at how similar this song is to the story of  Romeo and Juliet.

randj

I feel like there’s also a hidden message behind Romeo and Juliet, and hopefully I can enlighten everyone because I felt so intelligent when my classmate Belle and I figured out the true purpose behind Shakespeare’s star-crossed lovers and Dumas’ Valentine and Maximilien (in The Count of Monte Cristo) at 12 in the morning. Basically, Shakespeare and Dumas made these female characters absolutely perfect. They were young, beautiful, wealthy–the list goes on, but most importantly, everyone loved these girls. Why would such renowned playwrights and writers make characters so flawless and unobtainable? Are these men just trying to make 21st century teenage girls like me feel like crap for not being as perfect as these characters? Maybe they’re just giant misogynists, OR MAYBE they write the stories of Romeo and Juliet and Valentine and Maximilien as satires–to parody the youth’s perception of love and how blinding love can be, most likely the latter. This is jeanius because you always have people like me who appear pessimistic when I say that the kids making out in the middle of the hall during passing period aren’t going to last because, guess what; they most likely aren’t. I’m glad wise men like Shakespeare and Dumas understand what I’m going through on a daily basis.

Anyways, these kiddos were in the deep end of love; their love so strong it could kill, and it did. No spoilers, but a bunch of people died because they loved each other so much. I’m not saying that teenagers can’t be in love or aren’t really in love; I’m saying that emotions and people change. Love, like all emotions, are temporary conditions. With the word temporary, I mean that love only lasts for a limited amount of time. A perfect example of this is the love that Romeo had for Rosaline and Dantes with Mercedes. Did you see how quickly Romeo moved on from Rosaline? I mean, what a total player. (As a feminist I don’t believe in slut shaming or player praising, so when I say that Romeo is a player I mean that in a neutral Switzerland,  gets a lot of girls type of way.) Believe it or not, if Juliet wasn’t smitten with Romeo, he would’ve just moved on, and nobody would have to die.  The thing I most like with Dantes and Mercedes though, is that  they moved on with their lives. Sure, they were both upset, but they got over it. They were mature and didn’t kill anyone.

When Dumas makes this nearly exact replica of Romeo and Juliet, he doesn’t do this to plagiarized a famous play. He does this to reiterate a message that might have been missed in Romeo and Juliet. Dumas uses this replication to enforce that idea of ever-changing emotions during a person’s lifetime and to satire how young people view love as the single most important thing in their lives. (remember that satire is parody with a purpose. Dumb Starbucks is parody. “I am not young enough to know everything” said by Oscar Wilde is satire using verbal irony.)

Enough with Rome and Jules (was that literary sacrilege?), enjoy the song.

-Jean

Leave a Reply

